(423) 232-5097 eastern8cdc@e8cdc.org

About Us

Chartered in 1998, Eastern Eight Community Development Corporation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and a certified Community Housing Development Organization (CHDO). 

Our Story

Chartered in 1998, Eastern Eight Community Development Corporation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and a certified Community Housing Development Organization (CHDO).

We’re on a mission to fulfill housing needs for low to moderate income families, making home ownership a reality for a multitude of people. Our mission is difficult – housing costs average about $82,000; unfortunately, the poorest sixty percent (60%) of Tennessee residents have average incomes of only $23,300. 

Where We Operate

We provide housing services through 8 counties in Northeast Tennessee:

  • Carter County
  • Greene County
  • Hancock County
  • Hawkins County
  • Johnson County
  • Sullivan County
  • Washington County
  • Unicoi County

On a Mission

Income isn’t the only barrier to homeownership, however. Families and individuals in our region struggle against various issues that keep them from becoming successful homeowners. For this reason, we concentrate our services into five key areas:  

  • Pre-purchase homebuyer education
  • Homeownership
  • Post-purchase homeowner education
  • Foreclosure prevention services
  • Affordable rental housing

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Are you a government agency?
    No. Eastern Eight is a Community Development Corporation, a privately run nonprofit housing organization.
    Do my tax dollars fund your projects?
    No. Again, we are a private organization. We sometimes win grants that give us government funds, but these come through highly competitive grant processes.
    Do you give people homes?
    No. We do make it more affordable, with down payment assistance and a number of grants for individuals who qualify. If you have income and credit, then we can help you get an affordable mortgage.
    Is this for real? I can get a mortgage payment that's the same or less than my monthly rent payment?
    Yes! With the assistance and grants available to people who qualify, our homes feature mortgage payments less than $600 a month.
    These homes must not be very nice - they're too cheap!
    Not true — we sell attractive, livable homes. Professional contractors build our homes chosen from a selection of floor plans. We also rehabilitate houses, again working with contractors to create awesome homes.
    If I sign on with Eastern Eight, do you choose where my home will be?
    No. We service the eight counties of Northeast Tennessee — you tell us where you want to live and as long as we can find a lot there we’ll make it happen.
    How much experience do you have?
    We’ve been around for almost 20 years — in that time, we’ve built more than 150 houses and put more than 200 people into attractive, affordable homes.
    If this is so great, then why haven't I heard of you before?
    We are a nonprofit organization — as a rule, the majority of our funds serve our homebuyers. Unfortunately, that leaves little to go toward marketing and PR. We’re doing better — this website is a huge step — but we’re still a secret to the region at large. Hopefully more folks will hear about us from you!

    Eastern Eight Community Development Corporation
    3 Limited Centre Street
    Johnson City, TN 37604
    (423) 232-5097

    Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, or

    national origin in any program or activity that receives Federal funds or other Federal financial assistance.

    Public Disclosure

    We are required by the IRS to make our returns publicly available, so we have attached them below in PDF format for your convenience.

    E8CDC 2020 Form 990 – Public Disclosure Copy